The Padma awards, one of the highest civilian honours in India, was conferred to 119 individuals on Monday. 7 Padma Vibhushan, 10 Padma Bhushan and 102 Padma Shri awardees were honoured by President Ram Nath Kovind. Sixteen awards have been conferred posthumously.

Padma Shri in Literature and Education (Journalism) was awardedt o Lalbiakthanga, India's oldest working journalist. The 96 year old journalist is currently the editor of Zoram Tlangau, a local newspaper in Mizo langauage. 

Padma Shri in Literature and Education was also awarded to C. Kamlova for his significant contribution to the teaching and promotion of Hindi language in Mizoram. He has published a Hindi-Mizo dictionary which is widely used by students of the language.

A ceremony to honour the Padma awardees could not be held in 2020 and was delayed in 2021 owing to the Covid-19 pandemic.