The much anticipated Tuirial Constituency bye-election votes were counted today where the ruling party candidate, K. Laldawngliana won with 5820 votes, sealing a significant win for the MNF party. ZPM candidate Laltlanmawia comes closest to the Laldawngliana with 4536 votes, marking a 1284 difference. 

K. Laldawngliana (49 yrs) is a resident of Dinthar Veng, Aizawl and is currently the chairman of Mizoram State Cooperative Marketing & Consumer's Federation (MIZOFED).

The bypoll to Tuirial seat was held after the untimely demise of incumbent MLA Andrew H. Thangliana of Zoram People's Movement (ZPM) in August.